It was the deep regret

that we learnt about sad demise

of Professor, Academician Yuri Dmitrievich Tsvetkov 

who died suddenly at the age of 85 on July 7 2018.

On behave of all APES community

we express our heart-felt condolence on this sad occasion.

His death is a great loss for all EPR community.


Yuri Dmitrievich Tsvetkov was born on May 23, 1933 in the city of Kalinin.
He graduated from the Moscow Institute of Physics and Technology in 1957.
From 1957 to 1959 he worked at the Institute of Chemical Physics of the USSR Academy of Sciences.  Since 1959 at the Institute of Chemical Kinetics and Combustion of the SB RAS. In the Institute of Chemical Kinetics and Combustion of the SB RAS: Head of the Laboratory (1968-2003), Deputy Director (1969 - 1992) Director of the Institute (1993-2003). At the same time, in 1983 - 1992, - Chief Scientific Secretary of the SB RAS. Adviser of the Russian Academy of Sciences since 2003.

He was a specialist in the field of chemical physics, radiation chemistry and photochemistry, chemical radioscopy. He was elected as corresponding member in 1984, and as academician in 1997 at  Department of Chemistry and Materials Sciences of Russian Academy of Sciences.
Yu.D. Tsvetkov was  one of the initiators of the development and wide application of chemical radiospectroscopy. He developed the method of electron spin echo (ESE), applied it in physical and chemical research to study the spatial distribution of radicals and track effects in various irradiated substances. Modulation phenomena in the ESE of partially oriented systems were first discovered and studied in detail by him and his team.  Yu.D. Tsvetkov and his school created the foundations of a new trend in radio spectroscopy-EPR Fourier spectroscopy, which has a high resolution. He and his team developed for the first  time, pulsed EPR spectroscopy of dipole interactions (PELDOR), which makes it possible to measure distances between paramagnetic particles in the nanometer range. Recently, the methods developed by him have been increasingly used in studying the structure and dynamics of complex biological objects. In particular, team of Yu.D. Tsvetkov discovered and thoroughly studied the universal libration type of molecular motion in biomembranes, studied the conformational structure and aggregation of spin-labeled membrane-modifying proteins.

He was the head of the thesis of 16 PhD and 4 Habilitation. Yuri Tsvetkov  was the author and co-author of more than 300 scientific papers, including 6 monographs, member of the editorial boards of the journals "Structural Chemistry", "Chemical Physics".
During three years he was President of the International Society for Paramagnetic Resonance, scientific councils and editorial boards of a number of domestic and foreign journals.
He was laureate of the State Prize of the USSR, winner of the Bruker Prize for Chemical Radiospectroscopy and the International Zavoiky Award  and a silver medal of the International EPR Society.

Dear APES members, please pay you attention to the listed below EPR conferences and schools taking place in 2018

Note, this year we have joint APES-IES meeting in Australia Sep 24-28. Save the date!


Sep 24, 2018 - Sep 28, 2018
Brisbane, Australia
Contact: Web:

51st RSC EPR Meeting

Apr 8, 2018 - Apr 12, 2018
Queen Mary University of London


Jul 1, 2018 - Jul 5, 2018
Nantes, France

 Rocky Mountain Conference 2018

Jul 22, 2018 - Jul 26, 2018
Snowbird, Utah

Spin Physics Spin Chemistry and Spin Technology- 2018

Sep 10, 2018 - Sep 15, 2018
Novosibirsk, Russia

 V International School for Young Scientists
 Magnetic Resonance and Magnetic Phenomena in Chemical and Biological Physics

Sept 15, 2018 - Sept 20, 2018
St.Petersburg (Leningrad) region, RussiaSt.Petersburg (Leningrad) region, Russia

We congratulate APES members receiving prestigious EPR awards this year!

Zavoisky Award 2017

Prof Takeji TakuiProf. Takeji Takui

Osaka City University, Japan.

Zavoisky Award Ceremony and Lecture of Zavoisky Awardee Prof. Takeji Takui took place in September 2017 in the framework of annual International Conference “Modern Development of Magnetic Resonance 2017”, Kazan, Russia.

Prof. Takui was distinguished for his contributions to the development of organic high-spin and open-shell molecules and their EPR-based quantum spin technology.

Related links:


IES Young Investigator Award 2017

Fazhan-ShiProf. Fazhan Shi

University of Science and Technology of China, Jinzhai, China

Related links: